Big winner
The North Dundas Rockets hosted their annual awards banquet on Sat., April 25, at the Winchester Lions Hall. The big winner of the afternoon was the Rockets’ Captain, Bryden Van Kessel receiving the Playoff MVP trophy present by Simon Buma. Van Kessel also took home the Regular Season MVP, Top Scorer and Top Defenseman awards.      Courtesy photo

There were two winner this year for the Most Outstanding Forwards Trophy, Tom Fingler (left) and Connor Roth (right) Presenting trophy the was Colleen Young. Courtesy photo

Jeff Moore
Record Staff
WINCHESTER—The North Dundas Rockets’ owners and management hosted their annual year-end banquet on Sat., April 25, at the Winchester Lions Club Hall. This was the best season the team has had since they have been in the NCJHL posting 22 wins, 10 losses and one tie for 45 points second to only the Papineau Vikings with 50 points.

The Rockets’ Alternate Captain, Bradley Stitt took home the Top Defensive Forward award. Presenting the award sponsored by the Chesterville Lions Club was Scott McLean and Tom McMahon. Courtesy photo

The Rockets knocked out the Vankleek Hill Cougars and the St. Isidore Eagles in the first and second round making it to the championship round for the second time in two years. The Rockets ended up playing the first place Vikings, opening the series with two wins but the Vikings were able to stave off elimination taking the Rockets to a Game 7.

The Rockets had a 3-2 lead going into the third period of the seventh game but ran out of gas in the third coming up just one win short of the championship. At the banquet, the organization handed out the annual hardware to well deserved recipients.

The award winners were: Bryden Van Kessel, bringing home the Regular Season MVP, Top Scorer, Top Defenseman and Playoff MVP, Justin Lefebvre was named Rookie of the Year, defenseman, Brodie Barkley took home the Coaches Award, Connor Roth and Tom Fingler were co-winners of the Most Outstanding Forward, Bradley Stitt was named the Best Defensive Forward and Jack Van Kessel was given the Most Improved Player trophy, Nik Sourges was named Most Sportsmanlike Player, Chris Marchand took home the Rockets Resolution Award for perseverance and dedication to the team and Deb and Des Desarmia took home the Peter Van Kessel Memorial Trophy for their time volunteering.

Cheers to the Rockets for an entertaining and fun 2017-18 season and good luck next season.