Leroux (left) said communication between the local municipalities and the UCPR is a top priority during his term as warden. Courtesy photo

L’ORIGNAL – Pierre Leroux, mayor of the Township of Russell, was elected by acclamation as the 2020 warden of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell (UCPR).

Leroux brings important municipal experience to this position, having served as mayor of Russell since 2015. During the traditional swearing-in ceremony in the county council chambers, he addressed the priorities of his upcoming presidency – the first being communication with residents, regional organizations, the federal and provincial levels of government, as well as communication between the local municipalities.

“The level of communication between the local municipalities and the UCPR is a top priority, because regional communication is the key to our success,” stated warden Leroux, adding that it is a privilege and an honour to serve council in this role.

The incoming warden’s second priority consists of regional investment through the Prescott and Russell Area Partnership (PRAP), a project proposal that would see the creation of an intermunicipal investment mechanism whose objective is to promote commercial and industrial growth.

“We need to continue investing in ourselves. With the creation of the PRAP, we would not only be helping our local municipalities, but we would be stimulating economic development, encouraging growth, and most of all, creating new revenue streams that will alleviate financial pressures for local governments, and in turn, our residents,” added Leroux.

During the same ceremony, outgoing 2019 warden Robert Kirby presented cheques totaling $21,000 to several organizations in the Township of East Hawkesbury: the Prescott and Russell Residence Foundation, the Centre d’accueil Roger Séguin, and the Le Chenail Cultural Centre. These funds were raised during the Warden’s Golf Tournament and Warden’s Banquet fundraisers held during his term.

Warden Leroux’s nomination was proposed by François St-Amour, mayor of the Municipality of The Nation, and Daniel Lafleur, mayor of the Village of Casselman.