Bonnie Bergeron, Secretary
Russell 4-H Association

RUSSELL – After another year of COVID restrictions affecting club offerings, Russell County 4-H Association proudly celebrated their year end at the Russell Youth Center, outdoors, in late November. 

2021 gave us the opportunity to offer three 4-H Clubs including: Bread Making Club, led by Eileen Blenkarn and Wilma Baas; Health & Fitness Club, led by Vicki Brisson & Jessica Gratton (both online clubs); and the Dairy Club, led by Darcy Newman, Bonnie Bergeron & Becky Miller, with youth leader Ceilidh Newman, (initially online but switched to in-person meetings by end of June) and a successful achievement day at the Navan Fairgrounds in late August.

Our awards celebration changed format as well, and we were able to meet outdoors at the Russell Youth Center where the members were able to gather up their year end packages, play a few games, and watch a year end video.

The following awards were presented this year to our members:

First Year Member award: Sabrina Berger, Hudzen Miller-Gratton, Cali Olive, Emily Smygwaty, Felix Tessier, and Zoe Tessier

Twelve Projects Award: Ceilidh Newman and Hailey Smygwaty

Eighteen Projects  Award : Celina Hildbrand, Edward Larocque, and Anick Regimbald

Thirty Project  Award: Rebecca Baas

Thirty-Six Project Award: Tanya Regimbald, Osianna Williams

Forty-Two Project Award: Melissa Brisson

Youth Leader Award: Ceilidh Newman & Osianna Williams

Most Enthusiastic Member Bread Making Club: Sabrina Berger

Most Enthusiastic Member Health & Fitness Club: Celina Hildbrand

Most Enthusiastic Member Dairy Club: Tanya Regimbald

Graduating Member Award:  Melissa Brisson, Celina Hildbrand, Edward Larocque and William Baumgartner.

The Jack James Memorial Award for outstanding leadership was awarded to Tanya Regimbald of Sarsfield.  Tanya is studying Agriculture in St. Hyacinthe and was also the most Enthusiastic Member of the Dairy Club this past year. To date, she has completed 36 4-H projects.

Our 4-H Clubs could not be offered without the contributions of many volunteers: Wilma Baas, Eileen Blenkarn, Vicki Brisson, Julie Brisson, Jessica Gratton, Pegi Holtz, Lois James, Darcy Newman, Elizabeth O’Gorman-Smits, Wanda Williams and Bonnie Bergeron.

Our annual general meeting will be held by Zoom meeting on Feb 9, and we will know at that time which clubs will be offered during the upcoming months!